Conserving species and Idaho's lifestyle.

Grizzly Bear

The Grizzly Bear was listed as a threatened species in 1975. In the lower 48 states, grizzlies can be found in Idaho, Washington, Montana and Wyoming. There are at least 300-400 grizzlies living in the northwestern Rockies. Idaho has populations of grizzly bears in the Cabinet-Yaak Ecosystem, the Selkirk Ecosystem, and the Greater Yellowstone Ecosystem.

Over the last several years, a conservation strategy has been written and implemented for the grizzly bear in the Yellowstone Ecosystem. (Please see link below.) Efforts are currently underway to delist the grizzly bear in the Greater Yellowstone Ecosystem.


Idaho Yellowstone Grizzly Bear Plan [PDF] - 54 pages - 1MB

More Information:

Grizzly Bear fact sheet - - U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service

Final Conservation Strategy for the Grizzly Bear in the Yellowstone Ecosystem [PDF] - 86 pages

Staff Contact:

Dustin Miller

304 N. 8th Street, Room 149
Boise, ID 83702
Phone: 208.334.2189
Fax: 208.334.2172
Staff Contacts

Grizzly Bear

Grizzly Bear